Who are we?

The Gardenia E. Janssen Animal Shelter, serving Fayette County, Texas is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization with four paid employees. GJAS is governed by a six member, active, volunteer Board of Directors. GJAS receives payments from Fayette County and the cities in the county - La Grange, Flatonia and Schulenburg, and we are contractually obligated to receive animals from this area. The organization is primarily funded by donations, grants and fundraising.


Gardenia E. Janssen Animal Shelter was formed in 1994 as Fayette County Animal Shelter. The current facility was built in 2000, in large part, thanks to a generous donation from Gardenia E. Janssen. In 2008, the shelter was renamed in her honor. The shelter works with Fayette County & the cities within the county in sheltering animals from the area.

What Is Our Mission?

  • To maintain and operate a humane animal care facility to provide temporary care to homeless, unwanted or displaced animals.

  • To keep and provide care to all animals admitted into the GJAS until appropriate placement can be made in an adoptive home. These animals will not be euthanized unless a serious medical or behavioral problem develops that cannot be resolved and as long as space provides.

  • To promote and carry out educational activities relating to the prevention of abuse and cruelty to animals and to the reduction of overpopulation.

  • To participate in those activities which are designed to promote the health and welfare of animals and to demonstrate in outreach programs the benefits of human-animal bonding and interaction.

  • To provide opportunities for all community members to participate in these activities through volunteer and foster programs.

  • To foster and support preventative health care and provide such services to the community as are justified by facilities, personnel and funds.

Gardenia E. Janssen Animal Shelter (GJAS) Director

Teresa Stanley-Brown


Board of Directors

President: Rylee Hatfield, DVM

 Vice President: Sandy Reed
Secretary: Ann Rauch

Treasurer: Wade Mozisek

Directors: Sally Van Duyn & Seth Gunn